Thrifty Thursday: Local Freebies

Well, I thought I’d start my first “Thrifty Thursday” post off with a bang.  All the freebies I could find around the Denver-metro area for 2009.  These are great for dates, when guests come into town, a way to get out of the house, or just for the heck of it.  Also, if you really hate crowds, it’s good to know when these days are, so you can avoid them.  😉

2009 Free Days

spider-monkeyDenver Zoo
2300 Steele Street, Denver, CO 80205, 303-376-4800
• January 10
• January 19
• February 14
• February 24
• October 7
• October 25
• November 8
• November 11

Denver Art Museum
100 West 14th Avenue Parkway, Denver, 720-865-5000
• The art museum is free the first Saturday of every month

The Children’s Museum of Denver
2121 Children’s Museum Drive, Denver, 303-433-7444
• Free the first Tuesday night of every month from 4-8pm

big-horn-sheep.jpgDenver Museum of Nature & Science
2001 Colorado Blvd., Denver, Colorado 80205, 303-322-7009
A fee still applies to IMAX films, and Planetarium shows.
• Sunday, January 11
• Monday, February 2
• Wednesday, March 18
• Sunday, April 19
• Sunday, May 31
• Wednesday, June 10
• Monday, July 13
• Wednesday, August 12
• Sunday, September 13
• Sunday, October 4
• Monday, November 2
• Sunday, November 22

Denver Botanic Gardens
1005 York St., Denver, 720-865-3500
• January 19
• February 16
• March 16
• April 25
• July 20
• September 19
• October 23

Denver Botanic Gardens at Chatfield
8500 Deer Creek Canyon Rd., Littleton, 303-973-3705
• January 2
• February 6
• March 6
• April 3
• May 1
• June 5
• August 7
• November 6
• December 4

Denver Center for the Performing Arts
1101 13th St., Denver, 303-893-4000
Inana– Thur, Jan 15, Ricketson Theatre
Dusty & the Big Bad World – Thur, Jan 22, Space Theatre
Richard III – Thur, Jan 29, Stage Theatre
August Wilson’s Radio Golf – Thur, March 19, Space Theatre
A Prayer for Owen Meany – Thur, March 26, Stage Theatre
Sunsets and Margaritas– Thur, April 2, Ricketson Theatre
Quilters – Thur, May 21, Stage Theatre

 

Be sure to check Genny’s Blog, as well as with Katie Jean at  The Little Blue Bungalow and Tracy from T’s World, for their Thrifty Thursday Tips!

Advertisements
Categories: Thrift | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday: Local Freebies

  1. What a great start to Thrifty Thursdays!

  2. added to my list! i wanted to start something on tuesday thought with my tightwad book “tightwad tuesdays”? thanks anisa!

  3. Anisa

    Do it! I’ve been a little paranoid about doubling up on something doing the same day as Genny, so I’ve been debating over making mine “Frugal Fridays” 🙂 We could get a whole week going here soon!

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: